2023 Honorees

 program front reduced size

program backHistory of the Casey Tibbs Tribute Dinner:

In 1990, following the death of Casey Tibbs, the Casey Tibbs Foundation hosted the very first Tribute Dinner.  The Tribute Dinner is held on an annual basis as a fund-raiser to honor people in the South Dakota rodeo community and to celebrate their accomplishments.

Individuals, families and exceptional rodeo animals are nominated by the public for six different categories. All nominations are reviewed by the nominating committee comprised of people from six different South Dakota regions. The committee recommends two nominees from each category to the Casey Tibbs Board of Directors who choose the final nominees.

Those chosen for the six categories are honored at the Tribute Dinner in November with a social, dinner and presentations. Their photos are added to the permanent wall display along with many other Tribute Honorees from past years.

Tribute Dinner tickets can be purchased beginning the first week of October, by phone or by visiting the Rodeo Center. It is recommended to purchase advance tickets as seating is limited. Contact the Casey Tibbs SD Rodeo Center at 605-494-1094 for ticket information or at

How to Nominate:
Interested parties may turn in a nomination in by June 1, for the current year's Tribute Dinner. Please contact Kalyn at the Casey Tibbs South Dakota Rodeo Center to obtain a nomination form.


Are you interested in being on the Tribute

Dinner Nominating Committee?

Each year the Casey Tibbs Foundation holds a Tribute Dinner to honor deserving individuals’ and families who have been involved in the world of rodeo and ranching in South Dakota. We do not consider this an induction into the Casey Tibbs South Dakota Rodeo Center because an induction is not necessary for individuals to be a part of the Rodeo Center. This is simply a way we can pay tribute to some very deserving people and help preserve the history of rodeo in our state.  We do hope however, that the people we honor throughout the years will want to be a part of the Rodeo Center.  Casey did not want the Casey Tibbs South Dakota Rodeo Center to become a “Hall of Fame” where people had to be inducted into to be able to be a part of.  Therefore the Tribute Dinner was born.

The Casey Tibbs Foundation has assembled a committee made up of individuals from across the state. We divided the state into 6 regions with 2 committee spots in each region.  Each year at a meeting in August the Committee reviews all of the nominations submitted to the Casey Tibbs Foundation choosing two nominations in each category to recommend to the Casey Tibbs Foundation Board of Directors to be honored at that year’s Casey Tibbs Foundation Tribute Dinner.  The Board of Directors makes the final selection from their two recommendations in each category. 

The six categories for nomination are:

Rodeo Cowgirl Great, Rodeo Cowboy Great, Past Rodeo Great, Rodeo Promoter, Ranch-Cowboy Family, Rodeo Animal Athlete

The committee spots are two year spots, members will rotate off and new members will come on the committee.  If you are interested in participating on this committee, helping to choose who we honor each year at the Casey Tibbs Tribute Dinner,  please fill out the form and send it to the Casey Tibbs Foundation, PO Box 911,  Fort Pierre SD  57532.


In 1990, the event honored the memory of Casey Tibbs. 

In 1991, the event honorees were Mattie Goff-Newcombe, Irv & LaFola Korkow, and Bud Day.
Starting in 1992, categories were developed and the honorees for each category are listed below:

Past Rodeo Great Category

1992  Carl Huckfeldt
1993  Jack Buschbom
1994  Tom Miller
1995  Bart Clennon
1996  Clint Johnson
1997  Earl Thode
1998  Phyllis & Wayne Cornish
1999  Ed Bachman
2000  Terrance Etzkorn
2001  Howard Hunter
2002  Lonnie Hall
2003  Merlon Fairbanks
2004  Sam Olson
2005  Lee Crowser
2006  Willie Cowan
2007  Lyle Ebert
2008  Lamont Hill
2009  Bennie & Billie Bender
2010 Chauncey Mandan
2011 Kenny Badger
2012 Ralph Maynard
2013 Harold Heinert
2014 Jack Alexander
2015 Rocky Tibbs
2016 Don Reichert
2017 Ote Berry2018 Steve Mowry

2018 Steve Mowry

2019 Romey Gunville

2020 Bill Myers Sr.

2021 Dennis Hintz

2022 Pete Longbrake

2023 Johnny Tibbs


Rodeo Promoter Category

1992  Jim & Julie Sutton
1993  Joe & Grace Waln
1994  Jerry Olson
1995  Longbrake Rodeo Co.
1996  Ed Duffy
1997  Diamond M Rodeo Co.
1998  Jim Thompson
1999  John & Sue Kaiser
2000  Don Hight
2001  Martin Bonnichsen
2002  Duane Reichert
2003  Betty Lou Kost
2004  Holloway Family
2005  Mike & Janie Norlin
2006  Jim Aplan
2007  Tommy Tibbits
2008  Terry Weischedel
2009  Hollenbeck Rodeo Co. 
2010  Johnny Smith
2011 EW Weisel
2012 Kyle Evans
2013 Harold Delbridge
2014 Georgia & Harlan Gunville,
Gunville Rodeo Company
2015 Bernie Duffy
2016 Blaine Nordvold
2017 Joe Schomer
2018 Raymond W. Sutton, Sr.

2019 Mike Steiger

2020 Paul & Brenda Gropper

2021 Donna Keffeler

2022 Dave Dahl

2023 Dick Ward

Cowboy Great Category

1992  Marty Melvin
1993  Bud Longbrake
1994  Etbauer Brothers
1995  Paul Tierney
1996  Garrett Brothers
1997  Troy Pruitt
1998  Tom Reeves
1999  Brian Fulton
2000  Red Lemmel
2001  Arlen Hulm
2002  Ivan Teigen
2003  Jerry Golliher
2004  Ken Lensegrave
2005  Todd & Randy Suhn
2006  Birch Negaard
2007  Thad Bothwell
2008  Marty Hebb
2009  Frank Thompson
2010  Steve Sutton
2011 Gary Zilverberg
2012 Troy Brown
2013 Casey Gates
2014 Chad Ferley
2015 Billy Gallino
2016 Troy Crowser
2017 Jesse Bail
2018 Jake Rinehart

2019 Marty Jandreau

2020  Bob Shedeed

2021 Dugan LeBeaux

2022 Monte Melvin

2023 Ora Taton

Cowgirl Great Category

1995  Kristi Price
1996  Deb Gunderson Ploszaj
1997  Dori Hollenbeck
1998  Kelli Powers Word
1999  Connie Stinson Price
2000  Bunny Bail
2001  Lori Whiting
2002  Theresa Humphrey
2003  Gail Beebe
2004  Dorothy Bligh
2005  Deb Thompson
2006  Twila Merrill
2007  Sue Golliher
2008  Bunny Pisacka
2009  Jill Schimkat Moody
2010  Jodi O'Bryan
2011 Rosemary & Fidelia Tope
2012 Lisa Lockhart
2013 Jessica Painter Holmes
2014 Nikki Steffes
2015 Tabitha Sigman Harris
2016 Donna Shedeed
2017 Renee Kost Sutton2018 Kristi Lensegrav-Birkeland

2018 Kristi Lensgrav-Birkeland

2019 Sherry Ann (Maher) Taylor

2020 Carole Hollers

2021 Jana Griemsmann

2022 Roxee Holloway

2023 Summer Kosel

Ranch Family Category

1995  Krogman Family
1996  Art Cowan
1997  Clint & Jeanette Parker
1998  Ancel & Esther Tibbs
1999  Halligan Family
2000  Colombe Family
2001  Knippling Brothers
2002  Warren & Donna Melvin
2003  Bud & Melissa Annis
2004  Bill & Mona Schlagel
2005  Bill & Ruth Sutton
2006  Martin Nelson Family
2007  Harold & Marilyn Rinehart
2008  Milton, Mark & Zeta Trask Families
2009 Paul Painter Family
2010  Dick & Lois Hart
2011 Darrell and Marlene Griffith
2012 John Carr

2013 Walter & Marian Klein Family
2014 Iris Day
2015 Cliff and Chris Crago Family, Crago Livestock
2016 Lowell & Catherine West
2017 Joe Thorne
2018 Glen & Yvonne Hollenbeck

2019 The Russ Madison Family

2020 The Stanley Johnston Family

2021 Jess & Edie Knight Family

2022 Gordon & Janet Good Family

2023 The Buster Berry Family

Rodeo Animal Athlete
(In 2009 it was decided to add this category to the honorees)

2009  Unc & Snort -Owned by: Allen & Gordon Good Families)
2010  Justin Boots & Chief the Buffalo
Owned by- Jerry and Jerry Wayne Olson Families

2011 SlipperyOwned by Korkow Rodeo
2012 Walter Mitty- owned by Connie Price
2013 Chuckulator

2014 Pony Baroni - owned by Duane Reichert
2015"Annie" Lori Whiting's Horse
2016 "Okie" owned by Tonny Murray Family
2017 "Tipperary" owned by Charlie Wilson
2018 Frenchman'sowned by Bill & Deb Myers

2019 Willie- Owned by the Woodward Family

2020 Dillon & Doc- Owned by Jim Whiting

2021 Oakie With Cash (Louie)- Owned by Lisa Lockhart

2022 Captain's Darkie (Doc)- Owned by Nikki & Kristi Steffes

2023 747 South Point- Owned by Sutton Rodeo Co.